BAYA Book Review

Curse of the Werewolf Boy by Chris Priestley

Posted by

Priestley, Chris. Curse of the Werewolf Boy (Maudlin Towers). Bloomsbury, 2018. 256p. ISBN: 9781408873083. $17.99. MS ****

The story kicks off on a normal and dreary day at the school when someone steals the School Spoon (which dates all the way back to the days of Maudlin’s founders). Believing it was stolen by one of the students, the headmaster threatens to cancel school holidays until the spoon is returned. Our young heroes, Mildew and Sponge (outcasts and adventurers), set out to solve the mystery and save Christmas (or some such).

Maudlin Towers is the Addams Family of boarding schools (only with a bit more kooky humor and without the warmth). Priestley’s writing is great—charming, funny, and full of witty and unique names and witticisms. Maudlin Towers is a unique world—macabre in a way that is more fun than scary. There are cartoonishly drawn, antagonistic adults for our heroes to battle, an engaging mystery, time travel, and general shenanigans. Fans of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl will enjoy this uniquely British romp.

-Natalie McCall, Mill Valley Public Library

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s